3/7/13

Tip #35 - Creating Forms in Word - Part 2



100 Computer Tips in 100 Days

Tip #35 - Creating Forms in Word - Part 2


Now that you saw yesterday the power of tabs and a tab leader to create forms for printing, you’re ready to learn how to create a form that people can fill in on their computer without messing up the lines.

The tool we’re going to use is the Table tool. The table tool inserts a grid of rows and columns in your document. By default, when you insert a table the cells have a border around them that will print if you leave it as it is. When we create our form we will remove these borders and just put in bottom borders where we would like information to be inserted.

We’ll start by inserting a two-column table. Click on the Insert tab, Table (Table menu, Insert table in Apple land). A grid will appear. Move to the second box from the left to insert a two-column, one-row table. The cells will be inserted in your document and the cursor will be in the first cell. Type the word “Name” and tap the Tab key twice. The first tap moves you to the second cell, the second tap gives you a new row. Now type the word “Address” and again tap the Tab key twice. In the left cell in third line of the table type “Email”.

Now that we have all of our headings in place, this is a good time to adjust the column widths. Put your mouse on the vertical line that separates the left column from the right column. Hold down your mouse button and drag the line to the left. The left column will get narrower, the right column wider.  Make the column wide enough that the entries in the left column do not wrap. Remember, if you make a mistake you always have undo available (Ctrl + z)

Next we’ll format our table so that there are only lines at the bottom of the cells in the right column. We first have to remove all of the lines. Select the entire table by moving your mouse on the table so that the table selection option appears on the upper left of the table. It is represented by a box with a plus sign in it. Click the table selection option once to select the entire table.
From the Table Tools Design Tab, choose Borders, then No Borders (Table menu, borders in Apple land). Hang in, we’re almost there. Select the cells in the right column only by dragging from the first cell down through the last cell. Then go back to the Borders option and choose Bottom Border. Then back again and choose Inside Horizontal Border. Our borders are all set and the form is ready to be filled in.

OK, so this tip might benefit from a video but with a little practice I think you’ll see how great this is. Look around at other options from the Table Tools Design and Format options to split cells or merge cells.

Happy computing!

3/6/13

Tip #34 - Creating Forms in Word - Part 1


100 Computer Tips in 100 Days

Tip #34 - Creating Forms in Word - Part 1

Word is probably the most popular and appropriate choice for creating simple forms. The form we will be talking about in this tip is a form that will be printed and people will fill in by hand. We will discuss creating forms that folks can fill in electronically in another tip.

The hardest part of creating a nice looking form is getting the line that people will be expected to write on correct.  If you use the popular method in which you hold down the Shift key and use the underline key, you will create a line but the right side of that line will not stop at the same place for all of the form entries and just look messy. What you need to do is set a tab with a tab leader.

In order to do this we need to make sure the ruler is visible in Word. If you do not have a ruler visible go to the View tab and in the Show/Hide group click the checkbox for Ruler. If you are working with an earlier version of Word than 2007 or are on an Apple you should go to the View menu and make sure Ruler is chosen.

Now that you can see your ruler we can set a tab on it. Move your mouse up to the ruler, close to the right margin but still in the white area of the ruler. Your mouse should now look like an arrow. With the tip of the arrow just on the bottom edge of the ruler, click the mouse button once. You should see a small L shaped mark on the ruler. Keep your mouse in the same location and double click on the tab you just placed on the ruler.  The tab dialog box should appear. If it doesn’t click cancel and try again.

In the tab dialog box you will want to choose #4 in the leader section for a solid line and then click on OK. You have just set a tab on the ruler that has a solid line leading to it. In your document type “Name” and press the tab key once. You should see that a nice line appears from the end of the word Name to the tab you set on the ruler. Press the Enter/Return key and type “Address” and press the tab key. You can continue doing this down the page. Now that you know how to add tab leaders you should be able to add additional tabs on the ruler so that you can have “Cell phone” and “Home phone” on the same line with lines leading to them.

This tip will require a little practice. Don’t get frustrated, you’ll get it.


Happy computing!

3/5/13

Tip #33 - Charts in Excel


100 Computer Tips in 100 Days

Tip #33 - Charts in Excel


 Excel is an excellent program for creating charts. In 2007 Microsoft did away with the Chart Helper and gave you the Insert tab from which you can choose the type of chart you want to insert in your document. Five steps later and you have a chart, right smack in the middle of your worksheet. You then needed to use the Move Chart command to get the chart on its own sheet.  While this works, it’s a lot of trouble. Here’s a simpler way to create a beautiful chart.

Start by selecting the information you want to chart. Don’t forget to select the row and column headings so that Excel will know what to call the value and category axis items.

Now it’s time to dust off the Function keys along the top of your keyboard. When they’re nice and clean tap the F11 key. Excel will insert a new sheet in your document named “Chart1” with your beautiful chart displayed. The default chart type in Excel is a 2-D column chart with primary colors. If you would like a different kind o chart, use the options available from the Chart Tools tabs. (Formatting Palette in Apple).

To make it easier for you to make your charts all look the same, you might consider creating a chart template or two. To do this, format a chart just the way you like your charts to look and then click on the Chart Tools àDesign tab, Save As Template option. A dialog box will appear. Give the chart template a name. When you crate your next chart you can click on the Change Chart Type option and click on Templates. Your templates will be visible. Choose the appropriate template.

Note: If the information you want to chart is not in adjacent cells, you will have to use the Ctrl (Command) key to select it. In the image to the left we selected the salespersons names first, then held down the Ctrl (Command) key and selected the June data. Then we tapped the F11 key as described above.


Happy computing!


[Hack] New Star Soccer v1.18


Application Name: New Star Soccer
Current Version: 1.18
Itunes Url: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/new-star-soccer/id498973162?mt=8

Hack for Non-Jailbroken.

‧999999999 Star Bux
‧Career Mode Unlocked

Read more »

3/4/13

[Hack] Highway Rider v1.3


Application Name: Highway Rider
Current Version: 1.3
Itunes Url: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/highway-rider/id494833223?mt=8

Hack for Non-Jailbroken.

‧10,000,000 - Gas Caps
‧99,999 - Boost Tanks
‧Unlocked all characters

Read more »

[Hack] Trenches II v1.1.1


Application Name: Trenches II
Current Version: 1.1.1
Itunes Url: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/trenches-ii/id593658634?mt=8

Hack for Non-Jailbroken.

‧1,000,000,000 Perks

Read more »

Tip #32 - Google Math


100 Computer Tips in 100 Days

Tip #32 - Google Math


Google is known for its ability to do searches but it can also do math!

Just type an equation in the search box, such as 23*7+15/3=, and press the Enter (Return) key. Not only is the answer displayed but a calculator appears on your screen in case you have to do more equations.  Those of you who use Excel will notice that the equal sign goes at the end of the equation, not at the beginning.

No more hunting for the calculator, just use the Google search screen.

Note: If you are using Google Chrome as your browser you can type the equation in the address bar with the same result.

Happy computing!